(What’s The Story) Morning Glory

I am a night person. I am—I get all this energy and excitement around twilight, when the sun is setting and everything is golden and beautiful. And I blame my night personhood on college: staying up until 3 a.m. was not an unusual occurrence. Done with class/meetings at 11 p.m.? Wow—so much time to do homework!

But, I keep hearing about all these writers and accomplished authors who say that the best time to write is in the morning. Like, early morning. I brushed off their advice. I love my bed too much. Plus I held the thinking that being a night person and writing at night was better for me. I thought that the only reason I could write at night was because I had all day to think.

Wrong.

I have woken up at 6:30 a.m. the last two days, and I believe I am an absolute convert to early morning writing. I can write in the morning. I can even write well in the morning. And I like it, because I have no worries yet. I have wispy tips of dreams left over in my head from the nighttime, which is so much better than real thoughts so far.

I don’t know if I can keep up this habit. I’m waking up earlier, but staying up just as late. Something will have to change, like my bedtime. I’m much like the author in this Slate piece: http://www.slate.com/id/2193208/

What I really wanted when I started this experiment, I now realize, was to be one of those crazies who functions well on just five hours of sleep. That’s never going to happen.

But while I can keep it up, long live the mornings, my productivity, and hopefully, my mood.

~ by monifree on October 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
